A rebirth.

Isn’t it liberating when you find the inner strength to begin a continuous exercise plan? I’ve found that pushing myself to greater limits of endurance lifts my thoughts from weakness to strength, both physically and mentally. Admittedly, I don’t have abs like a washboard yet, but every day I know I grow in strength, and it pushes me to be better. I read recently that the skin transforms itself every thirty five days, and the liver, is renewed every month. It amazes me that body rebuilds itself all the time, and it encourages me to eat well and ‘Live Strong’, to quote one of a myriad Lorna Jane inspirational singlets. Yet even though my body becomes stronger, leaner, faster, my mind is the weakling it was way back when…The same irritable, impatient, selfish person I was when I erupted from the womb. Sometimes I don’t think I’ve come too far at all; getting to the same hurdles and falling over time and again because I didn’t take the time to think before I acted or spoke. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not Robinson Crusoe, I’m not alone on this one, but what I do know is that I’m going to get the body of an athlete well before I harness the enlightenment of the spirit.

Leave a Reply

