Lies… All in a day’s work.

Image

Do you always tell the truth?

I don’t.

I’d like to say that I do, but then, I’d be lying…

I’d like to think that the people around me that I care about most are honest with me, but if I’m honest with myself, it’s blindingly obvious that they aren’t. Yet for all that the general rule states that men lie to get themselves out of trouble, and females lie to protect other people, lies are still hurtful, and I question whether they are needful. Is there any good that comes from a lie? Sometimes we choose to believe untruths because it makes life easier, more palatable than the glaring truth, but how much good does it do to a relationship, and how much hurt is in a lie?

Frederich Nietzche said, “I’m not upset that you lied to me, I’m upset that from now on I can’t believe you.” That is really the crux of the matter. When we lie to our partners, our spouses, our children, we reinforce distrust, but more than than that , we wear down the love in a relationship. Let’s face it; a loving relationship is built on trust. If we don’t have that, then where is our foundation? A hymn I remember so well goes, “On Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand. All other ground is sinking sand.” Now I’m not saying we should all accept the teachings of  Jesus, but what I do say is this: we are all fallible. We all sin. No matter how much we rely on those we care about, they let us down. And sometimes, we let them down too. So is deceit acceptable, even in a loving relationship?

Come on now, let’s be honest…

I’d appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply

